I posted an answer to a question earlier and attached a screenshot, then almost immediately realised that my screenshot contained sensitive information that I'd missed (in this case my personal e-mail addresses).
Had I edited my answer, there would still have been a link to the old image (which was automatically uploaded to i.stack.imgur.com) in the answer's edit history. For lack of a better immediate solution, I deleted my answer and then reposted it with the correct image.
Firstly, I notice that my old answer is still there and visible to me. Is there a way to permanently remove it? Secondly, was deleting and reposting the answer the best thing to do, or is there another way to undo posting an answer without leaving a trace of it that I've missed?