10

As most of us know, each year Apple hosts its Worldwide Developers Conference (WWDC). Typically, Apple launches the WWDC with a keynote address during which it introduces upcoming software and hardware.

This year the conference will be held in San Jose, California, from Monday 5 June until Friday 9 June.

Below is part of the invite Apple issued for the event:

enter image description here

My proposal is that we hold a live chat event right here using Ask Different Chat. The way I see this working is that we invite users to join us in chat as the WWDC announcements unfold.

Expected announcements

  • iOS 11
  • macOS 10.13
  • tvOS 11
  • watchOS 4.

Rumoured announcements

  • Revised MacBook, MacBook Pro and MacBook Air models
  • A totally new Siri Smart Speaker (similar to Amazon Echo or Google Home)
  • A new 10.5" iPad Pro.

Surprise announcements

  • Let's have a live chat event and find out together! :)

Time of Keynote address

The Keynote address is scheduled for 10am on Monday 5 June (Pacific Time). This equates to:

  • Adelaide - 2.30am, Tuesday 6 June
  • Amsterdam - 7.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • Auckland - 5.00am, Tuesday 6 June
  • Beijing - 1.00am, Tuesday 6 June
  • Berlin - 7.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • Hong Kong - 1.00am, Tuesday 6 June
  • Jerusalem - 8.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • London - 6.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • Moscow - 8.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • New Delhi - 10.30pm, Monday 5 June
  • New York - 1.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • Paris - 7.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • Perth - 1.00am, Tuesday 6 June
  • Rio de Janeiro - 2.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • Rome - 7.00pm, Monday 5 June
  • Singapore - 1.00am, Tuesday 6 June
  • Sydney - 3.00am, Tuesday 6 June
  • Tokyo - 2.00am, Tuesday 6 June

You can also check your local timezone here.

So, for some of us (me included) it'll be a very late night or a very early morning!

To vote for or against this proposal, please upvote the appropriate answer below (i.e. you only need to upvote one answer - upvote 'yes' if we should do this, upvote 'no' if we should not).

Also, please feel free to offer comments in support of your vote.

  • 7pm, I like the timing :-) – nohillside May 25 '17 at 21:27
  • 1
    Haha, a lot better than the 3am I have to be up for! :( – Monomeeth May 25 '17 at 21:28
  • 2
    6pm, easy for me... & for a change, I won't be abroad on holiday trying to scrape a watchable version of it over some beach-bar 26kbps WiFi ;) – Tetsujin May 26 '17 at 10:19
  • 10:30 for me...all of you lucky chumps ;(. Also, this should totally happen! – Rushat Rai Jun 1 '17 at 6:41
  • 1:00pm for me! Will have to leave wifi before its over... :( I'll be home just in time for recap. – bret7600 Jun 4 '17 at 14:47
17

Yes -- we should hold a WWDC live event chat via Ask Different Chat

  • Not everything needs a poll — a simple +/- vote on the question should be sufficient! :) – grg May 25 '17 at 11:12
  • 1
    Haha, I did think that originally, but then I thought you could have 20 people upvote and 20 people downvote and that'd look like it was a non-event, even though you'd have 20 people willing to join in. But maybe I was over-thinking it! :) – Monomeeth May 25 '17 at 11:16
-6

No -- we should not hold a WWDC live event chat via Ask Different Chat

  • 1
    -1 this doesn't answer the question :D – owlswipe May 27 '17 at 20:23
  • 3
    Does a down vote on a No mean a Yes? – Sinstein May 29 '17 at 8:24
  • Yeah yeah, I know. LOL Next time I'll approach this a little differently! :) – Monomeeth May 29 '17 at 9:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .